How I Got 100 Subscribers on YouTube

Adam Rothstein
2 min readDec 14, 2021

--

YouTube Subscribe button

A hundred subscribers on YouTube is an achievement. Whether you consider it a large achievement, or a small one it is still something to be proud of. Back in late 2019, I started to post content to YouTube. I first introduced myself to my potential audience. Then I began to do audio segments.

My goal right from the start was to talk about audio, publishing, books, and baseball. I wanted a broad audience. Like everyone else, I started with zero subscribers. I showed my channel off to my friends and colleagues. Once they saw my channel, I had 18 subscribers very quickly. But going up from there would be a challenge.

When at the beginning of 2020, I began to post instructional videos. The first instructional video I posted involved teaching people how to perform a mail merge in Microsoft Publisher. It was a great first start to the channel. Today that video has over 2,000 views. The next instructional video I posted was how to upload a photo to Instagram from your computer. Even though you can now upload a photo via your computer to Instagram, it was an important video that helped new people find me.

Joining groups was perhaps the best thing that I could do to grow the channel. People are curious about you when you join new groups and clubs. They want to know everything about you. You can exchange social media information, subscribe and follow each other’s accounts and give support to each other. Also, when new people join the groups you will have a larger backlog of content as you post new videos.

Perhaps the most important thing I learned is that growing an audience takes time. Even something as small as 100 subscribers will take time. For me, it took me almost two years to reach this mark. Most people tap out at around 50 subscribers. If you put in the work, you will see results. It may not be the results you want, but you can still achieve something great.

My advice to anyone wanting to grow an audience is to make as many connections as possible. Introduce yourself. Talk about yourself and listen to what others have to say. If anything listening, is more important than speaking. People want to be listened to, and you can always learn something new every day. When people ask about you, answer every question to the best of your ability. You may not know the answer to every question. Just be honest and be willing to help others out so that you can build those relationships.

If you would like to subscribe to my channel click here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmBnb9EzslRoWzFBRCmO1LA

--

--

Adam Rothstein

Sports and tech writer. Lover of American sports stadiums.