What I Have Learned From Playing Chess

Adam Rothstein
2 min readMay 23, 2021

--

Chess board with pieces

I was eight years old when I first learned how to play chess. I thought the game was very intriguing. During my lunch break in elementary school, we learned how to play the game and some tips and tricks. The students of the club would play with each other each day of the week. Everyone had their ups and downs. I would play chess every day, including on weekends.

The most important thing that I learned from chess was to plan every move carefully. If I made the wrong move, it could cost me the game. Getting frustrated was something I did a lot when I first started to play chess. Once I learned how others played chess, the game became much easier for me.

For a little while, I stepped away from chess. During high school and college, I lost interest in the game and focused more on video games. I thought that most people my age were interested in the game. When I completed my college education and started my side hustles, I began to start playing more. Little did I know, there were people my age who were thrilled to sit down and play and game. There were many YouTubers at the time who were raking in hundreds of thousands of views per video. They showed off their moves, giving tips and tricks, and what you need to do to win.

After I sold my video game consoles, I began to play video games less often. From there, chess became its replacement. It was fun to get back into the game and face the computer. During the 2020 quarantine, I played chess on my iPhone by texting a friend. The way it worked was that you would send your moves via text. It may not have been the best way to play chess, but it kept me close with my friends.

If you learn chess, you will also develop your strategic skills, and build friendships. Chess is a great game to play. It connects you with so many other communities. Very few other games have been played as much as chess. No matter what enjoy the game, learn from your mistakes, and use chess to build communities, which will help you build a future of peace and prosperity.

If you liked this article, please sign up for my email list here: http://eepurl.com/hzhQA9

--

--

Adam Rothstein

Sports and tech writer. Lover of American sports stadiums.