What I Have Learned From Doing Voiceover Projects

Adam Rothstein
2 min readMar 12, 2021

--

For the past three years, I have been working on my voice and perfecting it for voice-over work. I have sold a few audiobooks, eCards, and samples. When I first got started I practiced reading books out loud to develop my voice. I also practiced trying to sound like some of the actors/characters I grew up with.

Some of the projects that I did to give myself practice were tough at first. Especially the audiobooks. Sitting down in your closet for just 30 minutes reading out loud, could get frustratingly long. Making a mistake could be the difference between adding a couple of extra minutes editing or moving on.

While learning voice acting, I practiced reading fake ads. It wasn’t anything fancy, but it helped me build up the confidence that I need it. My process involved me going into my closet with my laptop and microphone and recording from there. This helped me produce the best audio quality.

In late 2020, I began making a few extra dollars. I started by selling my audiobook on my website. I sold the audiobook for a few dollars to my friends and former colleagues. I made just over $30 from those sales alone. Also, I sold a picture audiobook version of ‘The Three Little Pigs’. The production of these two audiobooks took some time, but I became a master of editing.

I would never have become a voice actor if I didn’t take the plunge. I learned how to produce audio for videos, phone recordings, ads, and podcasts. I have developed a skill set that is going to serve me well in the future. The one thing that has been the most important part of my development is that I found something that I wanted to do for the rest of my life and teach others how to do it. This passion has driven me to accomplish so much for myself. My advice for you is that if you want to find your passion don’t be afraid to get your feet wet.

--

--

Adam Rothstein

Sports and tech writer. Lover of American sports stadiums.