What I Learned In 30 Days From Reading Something Before Going to Sleep

Adam Rothstein
2 min readApr 21, 2021

--

Man reading in bed

Thirty days ago, I decided to turn off my cell phone just before I went to bed, turned on my lamp, and cracked open a book. While I only read a few pages or so before going to bed each night, those few pages would give me the drive to conquer tomorrow.

For most nights, I slept pretty well. I will admit that there were hiccups along the way. At times I would look at my phone before going to sleep and listen to something. But for other nights, I would read a physical book.

I read several books over 30 days. They were Superfans by Pat Flynn, Common Sense Investing by John C. Boggle, and To Sell is Human by Daniel H. Pink. These books would give me lessons on business and self-improvement.

During this time, I landed my first narration gig on ACX. I learned a lot about the submission requirements and used that for my master’s course. Also, I built up my master course and began finalizing everything.

The most noticeable thing that happened was that I cut down on my screen time. Over the weeks during this challenge, I would look at the screen time report every Sunday, and it would say something like screen time down 11% or 20 %. It was a huge accomplishment. Especially for someone like me who is a self-promoter on Instagram.

The greatest benefit was an increase in my attention span. I began noticing this around the 2nd week. I was enjoying what I was reading and not thinking about my phone. Also, turning off my phone and using a digital alarm clock helped immensely. By not using the alarm on my iPhone was the key. The alternatives that I had helped me push through those difficult nights when I wanted to hop on social media.

There are many challenges that we face in our life. When you face them, they will be difficult, you may even fail. But just like Master Yoda said, “Do or do not. There is no try”. It is better that you pursue your goals knowing that you gave it your all, rather than wondering what could have been. I’m grateful I took myself up on this challenge. This was difficult for me, and I even failed a few times. But I’m better for this because I have created a new habit that will benefit me for the rest of my life.

--

--

Adam Rothstein

Sports and tech writer. Lover of American sports stadiums.