What I love about the MacBook Air 2020

Adam Rothstein
3 min readOct 17, 2020

--

Image of the MacBook Air 2020

There are many great things about the newest MacBook Air. From it’s butterfly keyboard to it’s lightweight and easy portability, anyone who isn’t a Mac user may be inclined to switch. From someone who grew up using Windows I grow more inclined to make the permanent switch to Mac OS.

The things I love

  1. The Keyboard

The MacBook Air has the best keyboard I ever typed on. For someone who enjoyed going into the Apple store back in the day, I have never have typed on a keyboard that molds well with my finger tips. The arrow keys also have the perfect feel and mold well to the average finger tips.

2. The Battery life

The battery life of the MacBook Air 2020 is roughly ten hours. For me I’m often more likely to use a laptop with the charger plugged in. But for those who want a lightweight laptop with a long battery life the MacBook Air 2020 is definitely your go to laptop.

3. The Price

Most Macs are well over $1000, but not the MacBook Air 2020. Starting off at $899 in the education section on apple.com, you get all of the same features from the previous versions for a cheaper cost. After this deal goes away in the education section, all new MacBook Air 2020s will be $999. Still it is the cheapest Mac for your money.

4. Web browsing and basic capabilities

The MacBook Air 2020 has the bes web browsing capabilities I’ve ever seen from a laptop. With its latest trackpad, one can navigate with a simple swipe from one browser to the next. Or back to the home screen.

The new MacBook Air can download and run applications from the internet with ease. I downloaded my old applications such as Audacity and LibreOffice. Originally working off of an HP computer, I can honestly say that the application performance is much better with Mac OS.

5. The headphone jack port

For most of Apple’s newest devices, they are phasing out the 3.5 mm headphone jack port. However, for the MacBook Air 2020 they have kept it. Most people today still have at least one device with a 3.5 mm headphone jack. whether that’s with a CD player, older iPhone or a Windows laptop. This was perhaps one of the smartest moves Apple made when designing this laptop.

Overall:

If I had to rate this laptop for overall design performance and price point, I would give it a 9.2 out of 10. I have had the 2020 version of the MacBook Air for about three weeks now. It has been a bit tricky switching from Windows to Mac OS, but it’s a switch worth making. If you are looking for a basic and reliable laptop for college or pleasure then the MacBook Air 2020 is the perfect laptop to buy.

--

--

Adam Rothstein

Sports and tech writer. Lover of American sports stadiums.