Why Everyone Should Become a Freelancer, Even If It Is Part-time

Adam Rothstein
3 min readSep 11, 2021

--

Fiverr photo

Recently, I signed up for Fiverr again, and I’m getting used to seeing all the gigs and how everything works. Upwork was where I was when it came to getting freelance gigs. The best thing about Fiverr is that the clients come to you. Making money and getting clients is the hard part on both websites or any other freelancing site.

The reason why I believe that everyone should be a freelancer at some point is that your job can be taken from you at any point. Whether you’ve been working there for one year at your company or 20 years. It is strange how one circumstance can change everything in a matter of minutes. We certainly learned that throughout 2020, it’s not easy to start a new thing and find new clients and the whole nine yards.

But let me tell you something, it is worth it. In 2020, I recently sold my first audiobooks and some e-cards as well. It gave me a sense of purpose. That I was more than an administrative assistant and could do this on my own. It is probably the most rewarding thing you will ever get to experience if you become an entrepreneur.

Recently someone bought one of my courses on Gumroad and, and I felt so thrilled when I received that money in my bank account on my website. I do teach people how to narrate audiobooks. And the course itself is also an excellent guide. If you want to publish books and publish eBooks along with your audiobooks, building these products, such as my course e-cards and audiobooks can take some time.

I have to format the audio to certain standards. I also must make sure that there’s no background noise. Eliminating background noise can be easy at times and tricky at other times. With Adobe audition, I can eliminate the background noise and certain beats and bumps as well with some special editing.

The best part about being an internet entrepreneur is that you can work anywhere, so long as you have an internet connection. You can work in West Virginia in the mountains. So as long as you have an internet connection, the same as you would as if you were in New York. I do enjoy not being in any city, as I grew up in the suburbs.

I believe with this type of work, you’re going to see cities collapse or eventually go the way of the Dodo. I do believe that going back to smaller towns with tighter communities will benefit everyone, not just economically but also socially. If you’re reading this right now and have an internet connection, you can start selling stuff on the internet. Whether it’s used products, digital products, or even digital services.

Perhaps the best thing we have right now is the internet and our ability to create an internet business. With the internet, we can control the source of our income and help others to achieve the same.

--

--

Adam Rothstein

Sports and tech writer. Lover of American sports stadiums.